Find
Notify
Tools

spoting scope
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
I need a new spoting scope for 200yds plus

Can someone recommend a not so expensive good scope?

Rick

Posts: 4821 | Location: Idaho/North Mex. | Registered: 12 June 2002Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
You will get every set of recommendations from expensive high end scopes to mid range. Avoid the very cheap. Myself, I shoot Palma and long range to 1000 yards. My old reliable Kowa that I had been using for 20 years suffered a fall that was unrepairable so I also had to look for a new scope.

Budget considerations made me look at the mid range- $150 to $250 - but other shooters had a range of scopes that I could look through and check. I wanted a angled scope and after a lot of asking around,I decided that I would be happy with a Celestron Ultima 65mm or 80mm, Konus, or Meade - Redtail or Condor, etc - their users were happy with them and they were in my price range. I settled on a Meade 77mm Redtail - in the upper range of my budget, but I got a good deal on it - waterproof, sealed and good optics - just keep the magnification at 25X. Am happy with the optics. The Meade Condor 50mm can be got for $100. Look around and make your own decision.

Arte et Marte

Posts: 116 | Location: New Zealand | Registered: 09 September 2003Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
This is not really an answer, just a similar question.

Field and Stream had a spotting scope article and recommended the Alpen mini 20x50 for under $100. I am curious if anyone has experience with them.

Liberals believe that criminals are just like them and guns cause crimes. Conservatives believe criminals are different and that it is the criminals that cause crimes. Maybe both are right and the solution is to keep guns away from liberals.

One of Us
posted Hide Post