THE ACCURATERELOADING.COM FORUMS

Accuratereloading.com    The Accurate Reloading Forums    THE ACCURATE RELOADING.COM FORUMS  Hop To Forum Categories  Guns, Politics, Gunsmithing & Reloading  Hop To Forums  Reloading    New reloader very frustrated! But not giving up!!!

Moderators: Mark
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

New reloader very frustrated! But not giving up!!!
 Login/Join

posted
Hey guys,
I'm new to reloading and have tried to figure out this problem but I cant. I have all the basic equip, and have been reading an watching videos all I can. I'm trying to reload some Hornady fire formed brass from my 308. After setting up my dies per the instructions I "neck sized" the brass. Then, I checked them with a case gauge and they were all just under the top shelf of my Lyman gauge. I then chambered the 3 cases and the bolt closed and ejected them, all though the bolt was a little tight. I then seated a bullet an rechecked the head space with the Lyman gauge just to check and they all were approximately .009" above the top shelf of the gauge? I took the round and checked the mouth of the case putting it into the respective hole from the outside of the gauge to make sure the mouth wasn't flaring out and it wasn't. I also checked a factory round and compared the mouth diameter with mine, they were exactly the same. I also chambered them and the bolt would not full close? I have already checked my headspace with a modified case and the correct compensator and seated the bullets .020" off the lands, so the bullet shouldn't be hitting the lands yet. I also don't know why the head space changed after seating a bullet??? Any clues at to what the heck is going on? Also, I played with the neck sizing die and could never get the brass to sit flush with the lowest shelf on the Lyman gauge. My shoulder on the brass started to curve convexly before it would push the shoulder back. I don't know what else to do. I'm also reloading on a rock chucker with hornady dies an the L n L conve