Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Cratered Primer and rifle damage
 Login/Join

posted
Okay. I am stumped. A Savage .270, in new condition. Using Fatory ammo.
A round broke the extractor and the suspect case had a CRATERED primer. The primer was pushed in! I have been reloading and learning for over 30 years. I have never heard of such a thing and can't explain what happened. The owner of the gun said the ammo manufacturer said it was an over loaded cartridge. If so how can the primer be CRATERED? The gun was sent back to the manufacturer for inspection. I was just wondering if any of you have come across this malady? High pressure flattenes primers. I thought. What in the world craters them?

All I need is one ragged hole!

Posts: 6 | Location: Illinois | Registered: 01 January 2006Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of Grumulkin
posted Hide Post
It's true, high pressure flattens primers.

By cratering, I assume you mean a small rim of raised metal around the firing pin indentation. There is a small space around where the firing pin comes through the hole in the receiver. At higher pressures than what flattens primers, the metal of the primer starts extruding into this space creating a rim of metal. Push the load further, and you get pierced primers or primer leaks.

Posts: 2911 | Location: Ohio, U.S.A. | Registered: 31 March 2006Reply With Quote
posted Hide Post
Yes. That is a typical senario of high pressure or an enlarged firing pin hole. What happened to this particular rifle was the primer was cupped inward, cratered. There was no case rupture. Could the primer pocket have expanded enough for the gases to leak out around the primer and the resulting gases force the primer back in?

one of us
posted Hide Post
If gas escaped around the primer you would see soot around it and most of the time gas will cut a circular groove on the bolt face. This escaping gas will exit from the gas relief holes and firing pin hole and won't push the primer in like you describe.