Find
Notify
Tools

38 spl. Sooty Brass
 Login/Join

One of Us
Picture of Paul Owens
posted
I'm new to reloading and I've got a question? I'm reloading 38 spl. using Remington brass with 4.8 grains of Ramshot Zip powder (min. load) behind a 125 grain Winchester hollow point bullet.I'm shooting a Colt revolver,and my brass is sooty around the mouth on every case.Is this normal.

Posts: 29 | Location: Pike Co.Kentucky | Registered: 29 April 2009Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
It is not "abnormal". You may trying bumping powder charge up in small incremental amounts to check brass sealing against chamber wall. If not sooty down the case length your brass should be expanding against chamber wall and sealing.

Posts: 2627 | Location: Where the pine trees touch the sky | Registered: 06 December 2006Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of Paul Owens
posted Hide Post
The brass is sooty down the sides.I will try going up to 5 grains. Ramshot recommends not exceeding 5.3 grains with there Zip Powder behind 125 grain bullet.

Posts: 29 | Location: Pike Co.Kentucky | Registered: 29 April 2009Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
Ok, if sooty down the sides that load is too light for that lot of brass. May need to try another powder if 5.0 grs doesn't seal. The 4.8 grs of Ramshot Zip may work with a thinner wall brass.

Posts: 2627 | Location: Where the pine trees touch the sky | Registered: 06 December 2006Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of Paul Owens
posted Hide Post
I like the Ramshot powder it shoots great,I just don't like the sooty brass,but I'm going to load it just a little hotter and try that.I have some Unique that I'm going to try also.

One of Us
posted Hide Post
the unique will probably be sooty too.
try 231 or titegroup to lose the soot.
if you use carbide dies and the soot isn't really bad it will help act as a lubricant for the sizing die.

Posts: 4989 | Location: soda springs,id | Registered: 02 April 2008Reply With Quote
One of Us