Find
Notify
Tools

Forster Off Spec.
 Login/Join

One of Us
Picture of Ralph Hyrlik
posted
For those of you who ream the inside of your case necks, are Forster bits supposed to be larger in diameter than their designation to account for brass springback?

For example, are .223" bits really .226", or are they off spec?

I bought a .223" bit and it is really .226". A .224" bit is .2265". Is this normal?

One of Us
Picture of AZ Pete
posted Hide Post
Since no one has replied......

I have no personal experience with the reamer, however I do have good luck with Forster. E-Mail or call them, they have been very responsive to me in the past, and know their products. They do stand behind their products as well.

Good luck.

NRA Patron Life Member

Posts: 310 | Location: Arizona | Registered: 24 January 2005Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
I would never ream inside, only outside neck ream and only then if you have a custom chamber that requires it otherwise your overworking your brass each time you fire it...

I have to outside ream my 6x45 as it has a zero tollerance chamber, actually I can run a 223 through the die, outside neck ream and I really don't even have to resize to shoot it, but it gets a better purchase of the bullet if I do...If I don't outside neck ream that one then it won't chamber....

Ray Atkinson
Atkinson Hunting Adventures
10 Ward Lane,
Filer, Idaho, 83328
208-731-4120

rayatkinsonhunting@gmail.com

Posts: 42176 | Location: Twin Falls, Idaho | Registered: 04 June 2000Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of Ralph Hyrlik
posted Hide Post
Why would you not ream the inside of the neck?

one of us
Picture of Ol` Joe
posted Hide Post
quote:
Why would you not ream the inside of the neck?