Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

finding the percect load
 Login/Join

posted
I'm a little new to reloading but i know the basics. Anyway i'm trying to find the best possible load for my .223 bench rifle I was using a 55gr v-max over varget. I put charges in from 23.5 to 27.5 in graduations of 0.5 and the best one was 25.5 at 75 yrds. It shot about 2/8" which i thought was awesome. But when i took it out to the range to sight my scope in at 100 yrds i shot about an inch grouping. The only thing i changed the i shouldnt have is in the 75 yrd test i was using new brass and in the second one i neck sized the brass from before. So for all the people who have dedicated their lives to reloading and shooting. What should i do next as far as changing variables or get out there and try it again because it was an average winter day in northern MN freezing my pecker off. Ive got a box of loads that i put charges of 25.3 to 25.8 with graduations of 0.1 so maybe that will do it I.D.K. Thanks in advance for all then help.

One of Us
posted Hide Post
Try some loads 0,1g 0,2g 0,3g up and down from 25,5g and see if you can find a stable load in the middle what can take some temperature variation.
Cold weather isnt good for your groups either.

Posts: 3611 | Location: Sweden | Registered: 02 May 2009Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of Ghubert
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by deer slayer: