THE ACCURATERELOADING.COM FORUMS

Moderators: Mark
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Sorting 45 ACP brass - How critical is it?
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
I am fairly new to pistol reloading. Just exactly how critical is it to sort brass by brand for the 45 ACP? I have read that in the smaller cases like 9mm, it becomes a issue. I am not in competition shooting. Just wondering from a operation/accuracy standpoint. So far I have not had any problems with either of my 1911 clones with various makes of brass and have even shot a few through a Glock with no problems ie. bulged cases, etc.

I am not near my reloading data but I believe I have been using 6 gr. of Unique with 230 hardballs of various sorts and even some cast leads. No problems yet.

"The right to bear arms" insures your right to freedom, free speech, religion, your choice of doctors, etc. ....etc. ....etc....
-----------------------------------one trillion seconds = 31,709 years-------------------

Posts: 1521 | Location: Just about anywhere in Texas | Registered: 26 January 2008Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of mad_jack02
posted Hide Post
I don't sort my 45acp brass, but the load I use is somewhere in the middle of the road between start and stop. I seem to have no problem hitting the bowling pins if I do my part.

P.S. I do weed out the ones with the small primer holes, like the Win NT brass.

Extreme Custom Gunsmithing LLC, ecg@wheatstate.com

Posts: 487 | Location: Wichita, ks. | Registered: 28 January 2007Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
I find it very important to sort brass to make sure there is no 9mm or 40 casings inside my 45 brass.

I am do not sort my pistol brass by make at all unless Iam loading max huntig loads.

I find non sorted brass reloads are plenty accurate.

Posts: 19617 | Location: wis | Registered: 21 April 2001Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of ramrod340
posted Hide Post