New
Find
Notify
Tools

powder vs. powder
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
I have been loading for about 22 yrs. I have loaded the 7-08 for about 11 years. question? why can i load 44 grs of RL-15 and get 2944 fps. "shot over chrony" and load another powder say, 4064 or varget to the SOME volcity, 2944 or real close, and not get the same accurace. RL-15 will shoot most time .750 at 100 meters.with 140 sierra B.T.

Posts: 1137 | Location: SouthCarolina | Registered: 07 July 2004Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
harmonic vibration of the barrel, and the timing of those harmonics when the bullet clears the muzzle.

Posts: 2124 | Location: Whittemore, MI, USA | Registered: 07 March 2002Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
[QUOTE]Originally posted by Tailgunner:
harmonic vibration of the barrel, and the timing of those harmonics when the bullet clears the muzzle.[/QUOTE

Yup. Also I recently read on a web site that states that the slower burning powders gasses can slightly disrupts the flight of the bullet. It supposedly does this the moment the bullet leaves the barrel and the larger amount of gasses from the slower powder causing a turbulence at the moment the bullet leaves. I will find the web site again and post it here. I dont totally beleive it but I am sure there is some merit to that theory.

Posts: 168 | Location: Thomaston GA, USA | Registered: 11 January 2005Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of Doc
posted Hide Post
I've heard this too and I believe it affects boat tail bullets more than flat base, if it is true.

However, if it is the case then why do so many shooters claim excellent accuracy, for example, in a 270 with Re22 powder (slow), and H1000? And now using pwdrs such as Retumbo and Re25 in a 7RemMag...these are slow powders but sure seem to create great accuracy.

Ted Kennedy's car has killed more people than my guns

one of us
Picture of Dutch
posted Hide Post