New
Find
Notify
Tools

Velocity and pressure question...
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
I have been reloading for 6 years now so I'm still fairly new to this in the eyes of many on this board. I have loaded for several chamberings in bolt action, lever, auto, and revolver.

I am puzzled over a fairly new rifle I am loading for. The rifle is an MRC action that was barreled by MRC and chambered in 7mm WSM. With this rifle using Winchester brass, Federal primers, CCI primers, Nosler, Sierra, and Hornady bullets, H-4350 powder, H-4831 powder, and Win. WXR powder I am getting a little over book max. velocity around 2 grains before max. load and seeing pressure signs around 1 1/2 grains before max. book load in just about every combo I have tried from different reloading manuals.

As you can see I've tried enough different load combos to be fairly certain that the loads are not "stiff" via the manuals.

No real problems with this, just have to start low and work my way up carefully over a chroney, looking for pressure signs as is always recomended. I just would like to know what causes it!

One more thing, my Hornady dies, even when set to size as much as possible will only size the cases down to the point were there is still slight resistance chambering rounds. I doubt this is part of the problem since I usualy size in this fashion anyhow but thought I would throw that bit of info in also.

Thanks in advance for any helpfull posts!

Posts: 231 | Location: West Virginia | Registered: 22 December 2003Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of Bob338
posted Hide Post
Steve, I just went through the same thing and I think I can tell you a bit about your "problem".