THE ACCURATERELOADING.COM FORUMS

Accuratereloading.com    The Accurate Reloading Forums    THE ACCURATE RELOADING.COM FORUMS  Hop To Forum Categories  Guns, Politics, Gunsmithing & Reloading  Hop To Forums  Reloading    Virgin Brass..Bent case mouths. Newbie needs help please!!

Moderators: Mark
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Virgin Brass..Bent case mouths. Newbie needs help please!!
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
Hi Folks,

Well, I began my maiden voyage in reloading tonight and it ain't starting out so good. I'm trying prep some Virgin Winchester brass (.375 Win.). I have a bag of 50 and quite a few of the case mouths are bent/dented right out of the bag.

I lubbed them all and ran them thru my Lee Full Legnth Sizing Die and they are still dented/ out of round. Is this normal? Am I missing something here?

This is my first attempt at reloading but I thought the sizing die would round them out. I installed the die in my Lee Classic 4 hole Turret Press according to their directions. I deactivated the auto indexing feature and am using the press as a single stage for the time being.

Can anyone offer some guidence on what I'm doing wrong, or, how to correct the problem?

Thanks in advance.

Y.B.

Am I missing something here?

Posts: 47 | Location: Tidewater, Virginia | Registered: 03 May 2005Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of Fjold
posted Hide Post
The expander ball on the decapping pin should iron out any out of roundness.

Is there an expander ball on your decapping pin in the sizing die?.

The decapping pin should unscrew out of the top of the die. Or you have to remove the lock nut and unscrew it out the bottom of the die.

Measure the expander ball (or plug) and make sure that it is .375" in diameter. When you screw it back in make sure the decapping pin protrudes from the bottom of the die enough to go through the case and will push the old primer out the bottom. Don't screw it down so far that the expander ball hits the bottom of the case though.

Frank