New
Find
Notify
Tools

7mm Rem Mag and 300 WSM
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
I was looking for a good powder for both 7mm Rem mag and 300 WSM. I want a powder that performs well through a large range of bullets types and weights. Does anybody have a particular powder that they use that can handle the different calibers and bullet weights?

I was thinking MagPro (but it seems to be hard to find) or one of the 4350's out on the market but since I have limited experience with MagPro and no experience with 4350 I wouldn't know if they are any better than the rest.

Posts: 749 | Location: Central Montana | Registered: 17 October 2005Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
I use Rl-22 in 7mag. I've seen it used in the lighter bullets as well for the 300's, so that would be 1 choice. Another I'd guess woud be Rl-25, but you'd probably want 175's or 180's in 7mm for this powder to be most effective.

Posts: 322 | Location: Three Forks, Montana | Registered: 02 June 2005Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
I've had good results with IMR4831 in both my 7mm Rem Mag and my .338 Win Mag. I would look at H4831SC also.
Woody

Posts: 51 | Location: Spokane, WA | Registered: 05 November 2003Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of Jay Gorski
posted Hide Post
RE22 should work well for both. Jay

Posts: 1745 | Location: WI. | Registered: 19 May 2003Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
The R22 burn rate seems about right as long as you use 180 grainers in the 300 WSM..its a bit slow for lighter .308s in the 300 but covers a good range in the 7MM.

Posts: 1111 | Location: Afton, VA | Registered: 31 May 2003Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of CDH
posted Hide Post
FWIW, H4350 has been the most versatile powder (150-200 grainers, all good accuracy, 65 grains at 180 gives me 2955 fps) I have used to date in my particular 300WSM, and Magpro gave top velocities (and low pressure) with relatively poor accuracy.