Notify
Tools

How to crimp ?
 Login/Join

One of Us
Picture of Ingvar J. Kristjansson
posted
Hi fellas,

I just bought my first big bore (CZ 550 Safari Magnum) in 458 Lott.....I have been reloading for many years but never for a big bore. Do I have to crimp ? and how do I grimp ? I have never needed to crimp my ammo so far so every help is much appreciated. And finally.....do I need to buy a special crimping die or ????

Posts: 510 | Location: Iceland | Registered: 15 May 2006Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of FOOBAR
posted Hide Post
So a search for crimps, crimping, 458 Lott in the Big Bore and Reloading links...there's a ton of information on both.

Be sure the cases are trimmed evenly...follow the seating die instructions, use a Lee factory crimper or buy a taper crimper...work slow and test.

Luck

One of Us
Picture of 56hawk
posted Hide Post
If you plan on loading more than one round in the gun at a time you need to crimp. Otherwise the bullets in the magazine can move under recoil. I've only actually had this problem with magnum revolvers where the bullets are pulled out of the cases and jam the cylinder.

Crimping is pretty easy though. Most 458 bullets have a crimping groove. Just seat the bullets to the point where the case is lined up with the groove. Your bullet seating dies should have a crimp built into them. After you get the bullets seated to the right depth back off the bullet seating adjustment and then screw down the die until you feel it touch the case. Then slowly adjust down until you can see the brass being formed into the groove in the bullet.

One of Us
posted Hide Post
quote:
If you plan on loading more than one round in the gun at a time you need to crimp. Otherwise the bullets in the magazine can move under recoil.

In over 30 years, I've never had this problem.

The only thing I crimp is revolvers, and even then, I only use a light crimp.

Posts: 3034 | Location: Colorado | Registered: 01 July 2010Reply With Quote
One of Us