Find
Notify
Tools

Ejection Failure
 Login/Join

One of Us
Picture of Born to Hunt
posted
I have a Savage Model 14 in 300 WSM I have been loading for with no trouble for three years. I used the rifle this year during deer season and noticed the rifle will not eject a loaded round. If I shoot the load, the spent case is ejected as normal, but it will not pull a loaded round from the chamber. I had to push the round out with a cleaning rod. I full-length sized the brass prior to loading. Any ideas? FWIW: I'm loading Win cases / Hornady 150 grain SST / 63 grains of H4350 / nowhere near the lands (box magazine) / cases have been loaded 3 or 4 times.

Reloaders Haul Brass!

Posts: 336 | Location: Kentucky | Registered: 03 December 2003Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
Sounds like a headspace issue! I would look into -- Have the gun checked with a go-nogo gauge for headspace or try a factory load cartridge and see if it extracts the unfired round. If it pulls out the factory round you may be mashing down the shoulder headspace when you are resizing. As I recall the short magnum series are not belted so the shoulder area head space deminsion is critical. When you fire the round it is getting forced back into what ever mechanisim grips the rim of the cartridge to extract. If headspace is loose(of the chamber or cartridge) when you close the bolt and not fire it,the cartridge is not getting forced back into the extractor grabber thingie. (Sounds technical huh?)

Posts: 68 | Location: Wasilla Alaska | Registered: 09 February 2003Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of Born to Hunt
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by wasilla: