New
Find
Notify
Tools

help working up a load
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
im fairly new to reloading i just started at the begining of this year. i need to work up a load for my rifle for hunting season which is fast approaching. i loaded up a ladder starting at min and stepping up .5 grains each time. i thought i had a place lined up to shoot at 200yds and that fell through so all i have available is 100yd range so from what ive been told that is not a long enough distance to see any results from a ladder so what do i do next? should i load up 3 rounds of each .5 charge and shot 3 shot groups at each weight. or can i do it in 1 grain increments until i get close to max maybe? i need some advice so i can get a load ready soon. ive pretty much shot up all my factory bullets and don't plan to buy anymore ever again.

Posts: 300 | Location: louisiana | Registered: 04 January 2010Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
also forgot its a model 70 270wsm im loading 150g nosler bt's the ladder i loaded up i used re22 but i also have re19 available

One of Us
posted Hide Post
What are you loading for?

Posts: 3034 | Location: Colorado | Registered: 01 July 2010Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
deer hunting. i know the 150 may be a bit overkill but i liked the peformance i got from the factory loaded 150s that i killed with last year so i figured i would stick with it. i have the possibility to shoot 500yds when hunting the pipeline but ive never shot at those distances so all my shots will be within 300 and actually to date my longest kill has been 225yds.

One of Us
Picture of ted thorn
posted Hide Post
If 100 yards is all you have then 1 grain steps and 3 shot group testing works for me. I read pressure and check for best groups all in the same day.

I settled on 61 grains of H4831SC and 140 Accubonds for my .270 WSM at 2900 fps.

Posts: 7361 | Location: South East Missouri | Registered: 23 November 2005Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of Red C.