New
Find
Notify
Tools

primer prep question
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
Been reading reading and reading and Im at another point I must ask a simple question Im sure. I have noticed in the catalogs as well as the web site stores items sold as

1) PRIMER POCKET UNIFORMER

2)FLASH HOLE DEBURRER

3)PRIMER POCKET CLEANER

The flash hole deburrer Ive pretty much figured out, but it seems top me as if the uniformer and cleaner are virtually the same thing. Im sure Im wrong, but thats why I asked the question ha ha. Thanks in advance.God Bless.

John 3:16

One of Us
posted Hide Post
I'm just new to this as well Sydsdaddy and I'm going through the same thing as you. At the minute I'm waiting for my bullet seating die to arrive but apart from that the sum total of things I've bought are:

Scales (inexpensive Lee but will more than do my job)
Calipers (digital but inexpensive from hardware supplier and work well)
Press and neck sizing die (reasonable quality Hornady stuff - seems to work well for me)
Case mouth deburr tool
Primer pocket cleaner
Powder funnel
Case lube
Lee hand primer tool (OK - functional but I'm not very impressed with it)
Lee case trimmer (inexpensive chuck and pilot for a cordless screwdriver - works very well)

I've got my first lot of brass neck sized, primed and ready for the powder and bullet when the bullet seating die arrives.

As I go along I'm sure that I will gather up more bits but as I see it the list above is the minimum to get me started and with the bits I've got I can successfully reload which is all I'm interested in.

Specially if you are operating on a budget, like I am, I think it is hard to beat keeping it as simple as possible.

One of Us
posted Hide Post
the cleaner is a wire brush to clean the scuz out of the pocket,the uniformer removes a small amount of brass if it has to. get the brush if they are dirty.

Posts: 1371 | Location: Plains,TEXAS | Registered: 14 January 2008Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post