New
Find
Notify
Tools

Lee Collet dies not durable
 Login/Join

<Yspen>
posted
I have been using the Collet dies for two calibers now for about two years. I found them very effective and easy to use ....BUT

Recently I noticed a lip form at the base of the collet as if the collet is getting compressed . I didn't give much attention to it but this weekend at the range I noticed that my last reload wouldn't chamber .
On close inspection it appears that the shoulder was bumped back and it buldged out under the shoulder . It seems as if the "compressed" collet applied force on the shoulder and body of the case .

The lip of the collet is now so formed that I cannot remove it from the body of the die.
It seems it is now useless and I can only discard it ?
Anybody else experienced this collet metal compression ?

Am I applying too much force with these dies ?

Any comments appresiated

Ben

one of us
posted Hide Post
I've been using collet dies in four calibers for some years and have loaded many thousands of rounds with no problem. I think you are using too much force, just back the die off a little and see what happens. I think what happens is that if after the collet is fully pressed the case wall against the mandrel then any further vertical movement has to be taken up by pushing down the shoulder as the neck can no longer slide. I have noticed this problem when going over to cases with thicker necks than those I adjusted the die on.

You should send the die back Lee, they will probably send you a replacement. But if one of my collet dies failed I would have no hesitation about buying another. Also it might pay to have the mandrel reduced in dia. by a few thou'.

Posts: 157 | Location: england | Registered: 03 September 2001Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post