New
Find
Notify
Tools

OCW Starting Loads
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
I'm new to reloading and want ot work up some loads. I found the rational for OCW compelling but I am having touble finding the "Where to start" info.

I guess I'm looking for starting loads to develope for two rifles. The info I'm getting from the manuals and web published recipes is inconsistant and confusing to say the least.

My rifles are a Rem. 700 in .243 win. and a Savage 12VBSS in .300 WSM.

I have CCI BR-2 and Fed. GM210M primers.

IMR 4350 & Reloader 19 powders.

Nosler 6mm 95 gr Balistic Tip Spitzer & Speer 6mm 100 gr Boat Tails for the .243.

Nosler Balistic Tip 165 gr spitzer and Nosler Partition 200 gr Spitzers for the .300 WSM.

If I need to explore other materials let me know. The powders were selected because they were bothe mentioned in load recipes for both cal. and bullet selections and I understand that there may be better options.

Thanks for helping the newbie.

Posts: 77 | Location: williamsburg missouri | Registered: 08 January 2002Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
Hey Swamp Fox, First off, Welcome Aboard! You can normally get a lot of responses to this type question, so I'm a bit surprised no one spoke up.

What you found as the OCW Method is basically - FULL OF BEANS!(That should get the discussion going.)

A beginning Reloader named Dan took the "never improved upon" Creighton Audette Method(aka Ladder Method) and "Rookie-ized" it. Some of the most important aspects of Mr. Audett's Method were changed by Dan which degrades a persons ability to end up with the Best Load.

Just scan down through the previous posts and you will find a Link to the Ladder Method.

Quote:

...I am having touble finding the "Where to start" info. ...The info I'm getting from the manuals and web published recipes is inconsistant and confusing to say the least. ...