New
Find
Notify
Tools

crony vs. the book
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
qustion, I have been handloading for about 21 years. and load alot of 30-06 and the velocity some people say thay are getting is 3000 fps.is this book velocity? are crony. velocity. i can only get 2850. with a 150 at max load with 4064 and a 22 in. barrel. i shoot all my loads over a crony to get true readings than i know where i stand.

Posts: 1137 | Location: SouthCarolina | Registered: 07 July 2004Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of 308Sako
posted Hide Post
While I don't have experience with the chroni, I have been using an Ohler model or two for quite a few years. The bottom line with your loads or mine in any given session is the barrel not the load. Or perhaps it is better said the load in that particular barrel. Some combinations simply defy logic at times, and it is as often to the good as to the bad. I'm sure you have heard the term fast barrel or slow one. This doesn't necessarily refer to the twist rate! Try some other "book" loads with a different powder, and compare the percentage of velocity which they give relative to the IMR 4064 load which you question. This may shed some light on your question. Also if possible try your loads in a buddies .30-06. Good luck an d good shooting.

Posts: 3611 | Location: LV NV | Registered: 22 October 2002Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
To many variables between individual rifles, powder lots, case capacities, bullet brand, bullet lot etc for anyone's numbers to match anothers numbers.

That said, with my old barrel (22" 30-06) I was getting 2935 with Rem brass, 150gr Nosler BT's and 61.5gr RL-19. New 26" 30-06 barrel gets 2995 with the same loads. FWIW Noslers book shows 2995-3010 (depending on vol 3, 4, or 5) for that loading. Even the lab's get different results from issue to issue, unless they simply repeat the data (more common than you think) due to the changes in lot#