New
Find
Notify
Tools

Bullet Seating Question
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
I have been reloading now for about 10 years. Each year I get a little more knowledgable and gain more experience. Recently I have graduated to the fireformed brass, measuring comparator lengthes etc. My question is this. I have a regular set of Hornady dies for my .300 Win Mag. and I want to seat my bullets to a comparator length of 3.960" I get the seating die adjusted so that it does this on the first one. Might do it to that length give or take .002's for a few cartridges and then I will get one that reads as much as .005 or.006 thousands off. Is this due to the seating die, or is it the difference in the bullets? Second, when seating to a certain depth for accuracy, am I peeing into the wind by worrying about .005 thousands in either direction? For clarification I shoot for hunting purposes, but would like to keep my groups 1 moa or better.

Thanks for your help.

Posts: 437 | Location: S.E. Idaho | Registered: 23 July 2003Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
Your seating depth is controlled by the distance from the base of the cartridge as it is held in the shellholder to the point on the bullet that is the diameter of the corresponding radius of the bullet seating stem. If the distance from the case head to the bullet's full diameter varies using the conventional seating die, it would be because of variations in the ogive of the bullets. Bullet ogives WILL unavoidably vary. Some are worse than others. The proof is in the shooting, and not in theoretical measurements. Of course, the more consistent the bullets, the more likely they will yield good accuracy, but there are numerous other variables at work.

Posts: 13243 | Location: Henly, TX, USA | Registered: 04 April 2001Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post