New
Find
Notify
Tools

Federal HE Brass question
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
I have been given a small supply of Federal HE brass that I intend to load with 165 gr bullets over 44.5 grains of IMR4064. This has proven to be an accurate load in my Rem 700. My Nosler manual shows that loading density should be about 91%. When I load this brass, the powder fills the case into the neck (a compressed load) Is it safe to proceed or does the Federal case have enough internal difference to cause a problem (ie, high pressure)?

I've never loaded the FC HE brass before so I have no experience with them. Does anyone know how they differ from normal FC brass?

Posts: 277 | Location: Newton, MS | Registered: 08 August 2005Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of ricciardelli
posted Hide Post
Any time you change ANY component, re-work your load.

Posts: 3282 | Location: Saint Marie, Montana | Registered: 22 May 2002Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
Hmmm.. have you compared the weight of the FC HE cases verse a standard FC case? Try filling a standard FC case with sugar (or something like that)( fill it by using your powder funnel) and then pour it into the FC HE case. Not very scientific but it should kinda answer your question.
Please post your findings, I'm curious if that brass is "stronger" than standard brass.

One of Us
Picture of Hunt-ducks
posted Hide Post
You can also use water

Posts: 450 | Location: CA. | Registered: 15 May 2006Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
quote:
Hmmm.. have you compared the weight of the FC HE cases verse a standard FC case? Try filling a standard FC case with sugar (or something like that)( fill it by using your powder funnel) and then pour it into the FC HE case. Not very scientific but it should kinda answer your question.
Please post your findings, I'm curious if that brass is "stronger" than standard brass.