THE ACCURATERELOADING.COM FORUMS

Moderators: Mark
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

How far off the lands for 40XB-KS in .22-250?
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
Gentlemen,
Found my OAL with the Sinclair OAL tool with a 50 grain Sierra Blitzking. I've zeroed my Forster Ultra Seater out and neck sized 95 fire formed Winchester cases with my Lee Collet Neck Die. Powder is Varget and primers are CCI BR-2. Any recommendation would be appreciated.

Regards, Matt.

Posts: 525 | Location: Virginia | Registered: 26 January 2001Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of LongDistanceOperator
posted Hide Post
Hey Matt-
Looks like we're in the same boat. I'm just starting load development for a .22-250 also. See my post just a little bit down the board. This is my first time to develop a load. Today was frustrating, but it's great to learn.

Posts: 7519 | Location: near Austin, Texas, USA | Registered: 15 December 2000Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
LDO,
It will get better:-). Oddly enough I had very good luck with 52 grain Bergers in front of 34.6 of IMR 4064 and Federal GM Match Primers in this very rifle. However, that was a few years back with someone else figuring seating depth by the old imprecise, if effective, method. Now that I'm flying solo and working to the thousandth I seem to be having an information overload. I've had everywhere .003" to .025" recommended and I don't know where to go other than the generic .010". Sierra is said to recommend a bit of a jump in hot .22s, however, I don't know if it comes from honest advice or avoiding the liability of pressure concerns. Would go back to IMR 4064, however, I'm giving a Harrell's Premium Culver a spin and prefer the better metering of Varget. That is if I can make it shoot.

Best of luck, Matt.

one of us
Picture of LongDistanceOperator
posted Hide Post
Matt-
Do you get Precision Shooting magazine? There was a great article in the May 2000 issue on finding seating depth. The article is called "Best Seat in the House".