New
Find
Notify
Tools

308 Gameking help
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
I'm relatively new to reloading and have hit a minor snag. I'm loading some 165 grain Sierra Gamekings over H414. Sierra suggested a starting load of 47.5 working up to 51 grains and their reloading manual gives a C.O.L of 2.750.

Anyhow, I made up a dummy load at that length and it will not chamber in my rifle. In fact it appears to come some considerable way short of chambering.

The rifle is an Blaser R93 and I've never had any problem with factory loads or any of the reloads I've done so far. I'm loading Hornady 150 grain spire points to 2.735 (Lyman manual) with no problems and have some factory Nostler 165 grain ballistic tips with an overall length of about 2.785 that chamber with no problems.

Has anyone any suggestions as to what is the most sensible way for me to progress?

one of us
posted Hide Post
Have you ever made a slip fit case to check where a particular bullet hits the rifling??
You can do so by taking a fired case and slightly denting the case mouth so that it will hold a bullet but with some friction. Push the bullet into the case with your fingers and chamber the round and let the rifling push the bullet into the case as you close the bolt. That will be close to where the bullet hits the lands. Do this several times and check your measurements to make sure you are getting a consistant reading. Especially if you are working withe the boat tail hollow point bullet you may have to seat considerably deeper.
After you get a reading deduct about .008" as your bullet is sort of engraving just a bit into the rifling by using this method.

Posts: 2002 | Location: central wi | Registered: 13 September 2002Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
Blasers are known for having nice tight chambers. It could be that your fired brass isn't being sized enough. Are you using a FL sizing die and is the press camming over when you size the brass?