Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Seating Depth??
 Login/Join

posted
Hi guys, new here. I guess I will just jump right into it.

I need help with my seating depth…

I recently inherited my Grandfathers 1979 Browning BBR .300 Win Mag and I am trying to work up a load for my upcoming elk trip in October.

I am shooting 200 gr Accubonds and Hornady brass. I checked where my bullet is contacting the lands and it shows it is touching them at 3.653”. Here is the method I used to check the depth: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=J1yBCarMgZQ

Problem is, the Nosler recommendation says max C.O.L. is 3.340” and the max length my magazine will hold is 3.370”.

If I set the bullet at 3.370” that will put the bullet .283” off the lands. That seems pretty far to me….

What would you guys do?? Any recommendations would be helpful.

Thanks,
Trent

Posts: 4 | Location: Tuttle, OK | Registered: 25 July 2012Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
I'm just new at reloading myself, but I have had the experience that with some guns, bullet seating depth improves groups; and with others, not so much. The ones where it seems to work for me, I have them out near .020 from where your length gage says you have. With my Mark Vs, factory ammo is .080 from what the OAL gage reads and I never put those guys out there at .020.

What if ya went with another bullet? Would that let ya fill that clip with a longer shell?

Posts: 521 | Location: Alaska | Registered: 12 April 2010Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
Set col so the round works in the mag, make a couple of rounds and see if they work well then you are repeating.

Posts: 3611 | Location: Sweden | Registered: 02 May 2009Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
Fug the old "seat to the lands" BS
Many chamber / bullet combo's have a even longer jump, and they shoot very well that way.

Seat to 3.340, find the powder type and charge your rifle prefers. If that's still not good enough, try a different bullet.