New
Find
Notify
Tools

TSX problem
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
I am fairly new to reloading and this is my first experience with tsx's. I just loaded some 150's for my 300 RUM and while measuring oal I was actually able to push the bullet further in the case with my caliper. I was even able to pull the bullet back out with my fingers! The expander button is at .306 and I would think .002 would be enough tension to hold the bullet. No wonder I can't get this gun to group real well. The recoil is probably pushing the bullets further in. I may switch to accubonds if this is going to happen. The brass is only once fired and I'm using Redding FL dies.

Posts: 108 | Location: West Fargo, ND | Registered: 16 August 2007Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
Expander ball is too big.
------------------------------------------------
"Serious rifles have two barrels, everything else just burns gunpowder."

Posts: 1742 | Location: Texas | Registered: 10 January 2006Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
quote:
Expander ball is too big.

and/or your brass is too hard. Those supermag pressures are pretty hard on brass.

If a day goes by when you don't learn something - it was a Total Loss!

Posts: 324 | Location: SE Wyoming | Registered: 27 January 2004Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
You don't say what brand of brass you are using but it sounds like the necks are too thin. Have you neck turned that brass? Is your Redding FL a neck "button" type? And do other brands of brass work okay?

To test what your die and expander are each doing, size a case normally and mike the neck. Then, remove the expander/decapper and do it again. (Same case.)