Find
Notify
Tools

winchester primers
 Login/Join

one of us
Picture of byf42
posted
hey guys, i'm going to start reloading this week. my first cartridge i'm starting with is the 8mm Mauser. all the loads i've seen (using IMR powder) are with federal or cci primers. i would like to use winchester primers. my question is- does using a different brand primer (ie winchester as opposed to cci) alter pressures, velocity, accuracy, etc.? i am new to this, so any input is greatly appreciated. thank you.

Posts: 497 | Location: Illinois | Registered: 27 May 2004Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
ONly a problem in my opinion if you load up near max pressure. Some tell me they have noticed differences but i personally have not seen it.

Cheers and Good shooting
seafire

Posts: 2889 | Location: Southern OREGON | Registered: 27 May 2003Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of byf42
posted Hide Post
i will not be loading to max pressures. just looking for accuracy with a hornady 195 grain bullet, (similar to a military load) not looking for extreme fps or muzzle energy.

one of us
Picture of ricciardelli
posted Hide Post
Use whatever primer you want, as long as it is designed for the case. However, as with all loading techniques, start low and work-up slowly.

Posts: 3282 | Location: Saint Marie, Montana | Registered: 22 May 2002Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of bartsche
posted Hide Post
Where do I get 195gr. Hornady 8mm bullets ? roger

Posts: 10226 | Location: Temple City CA | Registered: 29 April 2003Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post

<eldeguello>
posted
my question is- does using a different brand primer (ie winchester as opposed to cci) alter pressures, velocity, accuracy, etc.? i am new to this, so any input is greatly appreciated. thank you.

< !--color-->