THE ACCURATERELOADING.COM FORUMS

Moderators: Mark
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Case stuck in wilson case holder...help!
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
I'm new to reloading and find frustration at every turn. Besides my own stupidity, I think part of the problem is that almost every piece of reloading equipment I've purchased has come with terrible instructions. Setting up my Wilson trimmer. Instructions say to tap case head against a block of wood after inserting it in the wilson case holder. I have it in correctly, with the case head at the holder end with the groove. It's the right brass...Lapua 6.5x55 Swede but I'm not sure if its the right holder. The holder itself is stamped 6.5x55 but the box it came in says "6.5x55 Norma" and underneath that "7.56 Bel Mauser" Well the case is now rightously stuck in the holder. I didn't give it a mighty tap just a firm one. The case head is sticking out about 1/4 inch from the holder and the neck end protrudes out from the other side to the point where the shoulder begins to angle away from the case.I bet I was supposed to lube the case before inserting it in the holder. Ive succeded in deforming the neck by trying to "tap" as directed. What should I have done to prevent this problem and is there a solution short of ordering another case holder. Thanks

Posts: 71 | Location: Dover, New Hampshire | Registered: 14 September 2005Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of Ralph Hyrlik
posted Hide Post
Just smack that case out of there, and sacrifice it. Insert the next one with finger pressure. You want it snug enough to stay put, but not too tight. I don't tap my cases out, I have a piece of thick leather that I press the necks against and the cases just pop out.

One of Us
posted Hide Post