New
Find
Notify
Tools

New Guy here (be gentle)
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
Hey Guys, I'm new to reloading rifle and have a couple basic questions. (been loading pistol for a few years)
First, I have a Ruger #1 Hvy stainless/laminated varmint model in 22-250 Rem with a 6.5-20x44 Nikon on top. What kind of accuracy should I expect out of the box with factory loads?
I'm going to start loading 55gr nosler BT fairly soon and I read that H380 works very well with that bullet weight and making the OAL a little longer than listed max helps matters some. What OAL are you guys going to? I was playing with around with empty brass and a bullet and contacted the lands at 2.481. That seems extreme considering the listed max oal is 2.350.
Well, that's enough probing of your minds for now.

Thanks,
Ruger#1

Posts: 294 | Location: Kentucky | Registered: 09 March 2003Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
After a little reading, you can disregard the accuracy question... that's a box of worms that I don't want to open. Lot of opinions and experiences with them out there it seems.

Ruger#1

one of us
Picture of ricciardelli
posted Hide Post
You might find H-414 will work a little better than H-380 with the 55 grain bullet...I did...

Posts: 3282 | Location: Saint Marie, Montana | Registered: 22 May 2002Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
I agree with the above post, however, in my #1 H-380 works with a 50 grain v-max bullet pretty well. As far as the accuracy part I had to float the barrell and get the trigger pull lightened and smoothed up before I got any degree of consistancy.

Posts: 72 | Location: House, NM | Registered: 03 March 2003Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post