Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

357 help for a newbie
 Login/Join

posted
OK so it is my first time reloading by myself. One of my friends showed me how and I am up to seating/crimping. Now my question is I have 2 plugs that go into the die. One is marked 38 Cal WC and the other is marked 38 RN. is the one marked RN for the roll crimp?? The WC seems to have a bowl depression and the RN has a flat depression. Also, I have read and heard that i should roll crimp it, is that correct??
thanks

one of us
Picture of fredj338
posted Hide Post
The seating plug is what pushes the bullet into the case. Use the plug that matches your bullet nose the closest. The flat plug or wad cutter (wc) plug will probably be your best bet unless you are loading round nose (RN) lead bullets.
The seating/crimping die body controls the crimp. I don't know what brand of dies you have, but most seating/crimping dies roll crimp for revolver rounds & taper crimp for semiauto rounds. What kind of press are you using? If it's a single stage (loads one at a time), then you may want to seat all of your bullets at one time then adjust your die & crimp all of them.
Put an empty case in the press. Raise the case all the way up & screw the seating crimping die into the press until you feel it stop against the case. Lock the die in place & then take a primed/powder filled case & put it in the press, there should be a slight bell to the case mouth taht allows a bullet to just set on top. Run the case up into the die & screw the plug down a bit at a time until the bullet seats to the crimp groove or cannelure (groove around the bullet). After you have all bullets seated, back the plug out & put a round back in the press. Unlock the die ring & turn the die down 1/4 turn & run the case up. You should feel a slight pressure, remove th round & the case mouth should have "rolled" into the groove. You don't needmuch crimp, so go slow if you go past 1/4 turn.