New
Find
Notify
Tools

300 win mag
 Login/Join

Picture of Sioux
posted
First of all thank you to all who responded to my last dilemma. I am new at reloading and I must admit that when I first started I thought I would be able to buy some brass, primers, bullets, and any powder, and away I go! bsflag My next problem is for my 300 win mag, I am having trouble with the length with the overall bullet,(forgive if I don't have the right wording) the reloading manual states that the max length is 3.340 and if I seat the bullet to that length with just a touch of pressure the bullet falls through. Do I have to listen to the manual? Or can I go pass the max length?

one of us
posted Hide Post
YOu can go past that if your magazine has room for longer bullets and you don't hit the rifling when chambering. That is really strange that you don't have enough neck grip at the standard 3.340". What bullet is doin this??

Posts: 2002 | Location: central wi | Registered: 13 September 2002Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
I've not reloaded the .300 Win Mag, but I think I know what your problem may be. The .300 Win Mag has a very short neck compared to other cartridges. This gives less surface area to grip the bullet.

You are likely using a longer bullet that does not have bearing surface close enough to the tip to be held by the neck of the cartridge. If I recall correctly the Nosler 180 grain protected point partition was created to address this specific problem.

What bullet are you loading?

LWD

Posts: 2104 | Location: Fort Worth, Texas | Registered: 16 April 2006Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
I'm at a loss here. Are you using brand new brass or brass you've fired in your rifle or somebody's used or range pick up brass? In either case, it sounds like the resizing die is either not squeezing the necks down far enough or the expander plug is causing the inside diameter of the neck way too large.