New
Find
Notify
Tools

.220 Swift experience wanted
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
I've just had a new Swift barrel installed ( 1-12 twist, 26" length) and am getting ready to do some load development. Looking for a person with LOTS of Swift experience willing to share their experiences. This rifle will be used predominantly for coyotes using 50-60 gr. bullets. Don't need rifle tuning help, but especially annealing experiences and any other loading info you think might help. I've lots of loading experience in numerous calibers, but just a little with the Swift in one other rifle. thank you.

One of Us
Picture of MickinColo
posted Hide Post
I don't find the Swift any more difficult to find a working hand load than any other cartridge. A load of a 55 grain bullet with 38.0 grains of IMR 4064 is a starting point.

Posts: 2650 | Location: Lakewood, CO | Registered: 15 February 2003Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
I’ve used several 220 swifts for both prairie dogs and coyotes, for close to 35 years. However I’ve stopped using it on PDs.
There’s nothing special about loading it. I use 4064 powder and 50 grain ballistic tips for coyotes.
Mine is a custom R 700 with a Lila 26”, 1:12” twist. It’s very accurate and deadly.

NRA Patron member

Posts: 2649 | Location: Minnesota | Registered: 08 December 2006Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of hivelosity
posted Hide Post
TheSwift! used one for several years as a groundhog gun.
My go to load was WW760 just under 3800f/s using a 52 gr Sierra HPBT. I used WW brass and aneiled after ever 3rd firing.

Posts: 2134 | Location: Ohio | Registered: 26 June 2000Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
I simply use the same load I use in the 22-250.
it isn't maxed out either.
the cases last just as long as anything else, and I ain't burning up the barrel.
heck half the time I shoot the same load as I use in my 223 using cast or 22LR jacketed bullets.
2800 fps is 2800 fps, and a dead squirrel is a dead squirrel.