New
Find
Notify
Tools

My question is a little different
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
Like the guy in the post below me, I am looking to buy a press. I am a novice reloader and don't understand all the presses. The only press I've ever used is the Dillon 550, and someone was there to guide me through. I see the Redding Turret, the Ultramag, the Forster co-ax, Rockchucker, etc., and I don't understand why someone would want a turret or co-ax, or whatever, instead of a progressive ("automatic") press such as the Dillon, etc. [Confused] I'm not trying to sell anyone on the Dillon; I really do not understand. Is it for more precision, or what? I can' believe it's strength. That's a lot of extra work over the progressives,from what I see, and the progressive seem to be strong enough. A friend hs been loading .300 Win Mag on his Dillon for years and hasn't broken anything yet. My friends reload everything, including the big mags on their Dillons. Before someone tells me to "Go buy a Dillon, then", I want them to make sure that I realize there must be a reason for these other type, and I'm just trying to learn
Thanks for any help you can be.. [Smile]

Posts: 62 | Location: CA | Registered: 06 July 2003Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
DZR - The issue is not strength. The Dillon 550 which you have a little experience is strong enough for most loading tasks.

The problem here is you said you were a "Newbie" to reloading. With a progressive press the loader has to be aware of a lot of things going on at once or you can crank out as much defective ammunition as good.

Plus a progressive is rather tedious to set up in the first place. And because of the additional problems setting up the press, they aren't very flexible, i.e. conducive to experimintation. Most new reloaders enjoy experimenting and generally SHOULD experiment with many loads. Again...extra trouble on a progressive.