New
Find
Notify
Tools

Reloading Safety
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
I realize there is another post on this but it seems important enough to me to start a new one. This concerns depriming unfired primers. Before today, I had been reloading for 41 years and NO accidents. But today, I was depriming some live primers when one went off. It sounded like a firecracker had gone off. Fortunately, except for 3 tiny scratches on my face, I escaped unharmed. But I was darned lucky, if the debris that hit my face had hit my eye/s, I might not be able to see this computer screen now. I should have been wearing eye protection too, I wasn't.
Yes, I GOT BY with many other deprimes of live primers in the past but old man Luck caught up with me. To sum it up, don't do it!! Now a bit wiser, Ray

Posts: 106 | Location: Aurora, CO | Registered: 06 December 2002Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
Ray, I didn't post on the first thread but I did read most of it. In my limited experience I have deprimed live primers with a universal decap die with no events to date. Being new this is not something I would have just tried without asking someone. Not sure who it was but 'someone' said it would be fine, just nice and gentle.

Was anything different this time that you think may have contributed to setting one off?

What would you recommend? Just soak the case in a tub of oil for a few days and discard?

Glad you weren't injured! I do wear either safety glasses or a full face shield, but this is starting to sound like a bad idea.

Any further thoughts?

XWind

Posts: 203 | Location: North Georgia | Registered: 23 December 2002Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
You could fire them in your gun.

Posts: 5543 | Registered: 09 December 2002Reply With Quote
<Gunnut45/454>
posted
newtoot
Glad your OK , but I'm currious what Make of primer was it? Pistol-Rifle-Shotgun? [Confused]

<Gunnut45/454>
posted
newtoot