New
Find
Notify
Tools

Barnes X or XLC 140 6.5 bullets
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
I am planning an elk hunt to Wyoming for next fall. I have choosed (in stone i might add) to carry my 6.5X55 custome rifle built on an intermediate sized (1903 Turk) 98 Mauser actin. The barrel is a Swedish military barrel cut to 22" and controured to sporter configuration. I am starting to look for a good load for this rifle that will perform well on Elk. I am thinking I need a premimum bullet in the 140 grain weight range pushed at leats 2700 fps. What do you think about the Barnes X or XLC for this rifle and what loading would you suggest.

By the way, I am new to this board but I have been reloading for about 30 years and still love doing it. I am still searching for the perfect one hole 5 shot group.

Posts: 30 | Location: Atlanta, Georgia | Registered: 23 October 2002Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
I have been shooting elk with 140 Gr. X's since they became available. They did real well at all ranges in a .264 launched at about 3200. All of them exited and may still be going for all I know.
I have been loading up some 120 x bullets for my .260 and wil be trying them on a spike at the end of the month.

Posts: 331 | Location: DeBeque, Co. | Registered: 09 August 2001Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
I have never tried 140 grain X-bullets in my 6,5 x 55, but I do not think it is a good idea. The general opinion in scandinavia is that this bullet is way to long for dependable accuracy unless you have a .264 Win. or similar caliber that can take the bullet up to around 3000 fps muzzle velocity.