New
Find
Notify
Tools

A question of pressure...
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
I got a B in Physics in school, so I am not an expert. But, does it bother anybody to see cartridge that are about the size of a thimble shoot heavy for caliber bullets at 4000fps?

I read often about guys shooting little cartridges like the 6,5x47 with 140gr bullets at velocities I couldn't reach with my old .256 Newton.

Isn't pressure pretty high?

Posts: 23062 | Location: SW Idaho | Registered: 19 December 2005Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of PaulS
posted Hide Post
First, recognize that you can't believe everything you see on the net. Some people lie and some people just have no clue so they guess.

Having said that the pressure in a firearm is dependent on the amount of gas, the speed at which it expands due to the heat of the powder and the area in which it expands. There is a range of powders the will make a certain amount of pressure in the "average" chamber with a "normal" throat and a given bore / groove size combination and an optimum finish.

A longer throat will lower pressures as will a loose bore or worn lands. All the variables mean that it is unlikely that you will get the same pressure and velocity in any two guns firing the same load.

There is also a point where more pressure will not provide more velocity. At that point the pressure rise is so fast that the bullet has no time to accelerate and destruction of the gun is very close. Some people load very close to that point without comprehending what damage they are doing. Few of us have the testing equipment and skill required to test the pressure curve in our firearms so some people have no clue what they are doing or what they are achieving.

Those folks are guided by "wishful thinking" and supposition.

Speer, Sierra, Lyman, Hornady, Hodgdon have reliable reloading data. You won't find it on so and so's web page.

Posts: 639 | Location: SE WA.  | Registered: 05 February 2004Reply With Quote
One of Us