New
Find
Notify
Tools

Tumbler Media Question
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
I have been using untreated walnut media for many years. Ordered some Lyman Tufnut (treated with rouge) and could not get it off the cases. Even washed with soap and water in the tumbler but the only way to get the cases clean was to wipe every one inside and out. Complained, and after some "discussion", was sent some corn cob media (probably just to shut me up). Cleaned and polished satisfactorily but 80% of the cases had a piece of media stuck in the primer hole. Had to be punched out. Now the question (sorry for the long lead in): Are these two conditions common 1) Rouge that won't come off and, 2) corncob pieces stuck in the primer hole?

NRA Patron Member

Posts: 404 | Location: Troy Michigan | Registered: 14 February 2011Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
Both have happened to me.
When I did vibrate cases,I since have transitioned to stainless steel media in water and detergent, I stopped using pretreated walnut grit--I threw in a capful of liquid auto polish and give it a 10 minute cycle to distribute evenly in the media.
Works great.

As to corncob- only use it on loaded rounds--yes, I know that statement will garner warnings but since the big companies do it and I never have experienced ANY problems, I give finished rounds a 15 minute trip in the tumbler.
I got tired of picking out media from primer pockets.

Anyway, the stainless steel and water bath REALLY cleans the cases better and faster, even primer pockets. No longer need to hit the pockets to get the carbon out.

Gary

One of Us
posted Hide Post
I've been using ground walnut shells ever since vibrating tumblers came out. Now and then I might add a bit of liquid polish. As far as picking out crap from the primer pockets, I decap after tumbling. Primer pockets never get cleaned very well with walnut or cob media anyway.

Posts: 8169 | Location: humboldt | Registered: 10 April 2002Reply With Quote
One of Us