Notify
Tools

Neck-sizing
 Login/Join

one of us
Picture of kk
posted
OK. Dumb question:

I am new to reloading and have gone through one set of about 150 .338 Win Mag cases about three times with a few discards. I have been full-length sizing with an RCBS press and Hornady dies.

I am having a bit of trouble making the cases headspace exactly on the shoulder, and I am interested in what people have said about neck-sizing.

So here's the dumb question: my Speer manual talks about neck-sizing, but doesn't say how to do it. So how do you do it?

If I take my used cases, they are inherently fire-formed to headspace on the shoulder. Right? But if I run them through my press far enough to neck-size and punch out the primer, they are also full-length-sized in the process. Right?

Another question: I have seen one webstite (Steve's Pages?) that says the longest case life comes from full-length sizing. Is that right?

Also, just to be clear, neck-sizing exactly means that you don't push the shoulder back. Right?

Sorry if this is dense. I imagine the simplicity of the answer will embarrass me, but I came here to learn.

kk

Posts: 1224 | Location: Southern Ontario, Canada | Registered: 14 October 2002Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of Bob338
posted Hide Post
In your case a lot of "rights" makes some wrongs. You truly cannot neck size only with a full sizing die.

First of all as to how to neck size. The best, fastest and easiest way is obviously with a neck sizing die. You need to buy one.