New
Find
Notify
Tools

Light loads for .270 Win
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
I am just getting into reloading (have saved brass for about 3 years, so have lots of it). One interest I have is light loads for a .270 Win so that my son can use that gun at the range. (He is 12 but quite small for his age.) While I am putting together manuals, etc. can anyone suggest good sources for data?

For light, target/plinking bullets, presently, I have on hand:
-a box of 100 gr Winchester PSP,
-a box of 90 gr Sierra HP, and
-a bag of 20, 100 Speer Hot-Core spitzers

I have located the Hodgdon site which lists some youth loads, however none are for the bullets I have.

Any ideas for where to look and what to acquire?

Thanks

one of us
Picture of 3584ELK
posted Hide Post
jgnfld,

I had a similar situation last year, as my 12 yo daughter wanted to go elk hunting. I am away from my loading data right now, but I remember loading 140 gr. Rem PSP (cause they were cheap) bullets over 25.0 gr of H4895. With your lighter bullets, you could adjust that to get a good point of impact while being sighted in with hunting loads. I use that same basic recipe for 30-06, and 280 Rem., adjusting for bullet weight as needed. It works SO well, that I am considering buying an 8lb keg of powder. This gives the girls lots of "real" practice, and lets them qualify without getting pounded. "Qualifying" means they hit a paper plate 3 times out of 3 at 100yds, from a field position. I am working on getting them to do this at 200 yds next. Good luck!

Posts: 597 | Location: Lake Andes, SD | Registered: 15 April 2004Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
I made up a light load using a 130 grain bullet and 18 grains of Unique for 1850 fps in a 22 inch barrel. it will shoot into an inch at 100 yards. it would probably work quite well on deer if you limit the shots to 200 yards or so.

Posts: 110 | Location: Minden , Nebraska | Registered: 23 July 2004Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post