Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Case trimming Question
 Login/Join

posted
I am new to case trimming and recently bought a Forster original case trimmer. I set out to trim 20 .243 cases. First, I measured all of the cases and found that the shortest one was 2.042 inches. So I inserted that case into the collet and set the adjustment screw on the cutter shaft (according to the instructions) so that the shaft stopped at the length of that shortest case. I then proceeded to trim the other 19 cases to what I thought would be the 2.042 length. Well, about half of them did end up that length. But some ended up at 2.040, some at 2.035, and some at 2.039.
What am I doing wrong? The cases are set evenly and firmly into the collet. With the Forster, you do have to tighten down the case holder so that the collet will compress around the base of the case. Is this where the problem lies?
Any help would be greatly appreciated.

<RickMD>
posted
HnTxs:

You must tighten the collet consistently or you'll get the variations that you are experiencing. There is slop in the collet if you don't snug it down.

Still, variations of .001" - .003" are to be expected. No big deal; just make sure you trim to approximately .010" under maximum specified case length.

posted Hide Post
Rick, thanks for the reply. I am trying to be consistent in the amount that I tighten down the case holder and I am getting it good and snug each time. It was just that the variations in length of the cases was similar to what they were before I trimmed them (just all a little shorter now). So, it did not seem like I did any good by trimming them. I thought the point of the trimming was to get them all exactly the same length to aid in consistency.
Most of the cases (after having been fired) were already shorter (before any trimming) than the case length listed in my reloading manual. What is the minimum case length for a .243?

<t_bob38>
posted
Length spec for 243 is 2.045" -.020". So it would be 2.025"

one of us