THE ACCURATERELOADING.COM FORUMS

Moderators: Mark
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Please compare these two .375 H&H loads.
 Login/Join

one of us
Picture of Muletrain
posted
Hornady 270 grain RN soft with 78 grains of IMR4350.

Hornady 300 grain RN soft with 72 grains of IMR4350.

Which would penetrate better on plainsgame and which would have the most felt recoil? What would the velocites be out of a Winchester Mod. 70 Safari Express?

Elephant Hunter,
Double Rifle Shooter Society,
NRA Lifetime Member,
Ten Safaris, in RSA, Namibia, Zimbabwe

Posts: 955 | Location: Houston, Texas, USA | Registered: 13 February 2002Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
Muletrain.

I know this is not a full answer to your question but IMO the 300 grain is the best way to go in this calibre, simply more factory ammo with premium bulets is available and also for Dangerous game where solids and softs may be called for, usually 300 grain wil be order of the day.

I have no real experience with the powder you list but can give you my own pet load, that was given to me by the late Jack Carter that is :-

W-W Brass
Fed # 215 primer

Rel 19 powder- 84 grains for Bear Claw 300 grain softs ( reduce by app 2 grains for the Sledgehammer solids ) velocity in region of 2550 fps - and in my own rifle absolutely no pressure signs.

Sorry not the answer you wanted but the load is a good one

JT

Posts: 343 | Location: York / U.K | Registered: 14 April 2005Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by Muletrain:
Hornady 270 grain RN soft with 78 grains of IMR4350.

Hornady 300 grain RN soft with 72 grains of IMR4350.

Which would penetrate better on plainsgame and which would have the most felt recoil? What would the velocites be out of a Winchester Mod. 70 Safari Express?

Muletrain,