New
Find
Notify
Tools

loading for the 40 SW
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
Looking for advice on loading for the 40 sw. i've been reloading for my rifles for a number of years, but this is my first time with pistols.

i have a sig 2022, chambered in the 40. Couple of questions:

- i've read that you need to be careful with the 40 if using a make of gun that doesn't fully support the case head - such as the glocks. i've not checked with my sig - does anyone have any experience loading for a sig?

- i've got a number of powders currently that i load for shotshell. namely, blue dot, PB, IMR SR 4756, and IMR SR 7625. There is published data for each of these powders by the manufacturer, for the 40, but I was wondering if anyone had any comments or experience on using these powders? i'm looking for mild, reliable practice loads - will probably be shooting 150 grain jacketed nosler. practice will be at 15-20 feet, so i'm not looking for 25 yard accuracy.

any advice would be appreciated - thanks..

One of Us
posted Hide Post
I bought one of the first Glock 23's , back when they were kinda vodo plastic guns that would blow up if you tried to shoot reloads through them. Well after thousands of rounds of reloads it's still working.

1911's dont totally support the case head either but everyones been loading them for centuries!

I have not tried the powders you have. I did like clays and AA #5. I settled on #5 because it burns clean and measured good through my lee auto disk measure on my pro 1000.

Importantly!! Get you a case gauge. I got mine from midway I think. It's a metal gauging device that you drop your loaded round into. If your loaded round will drop all the way in with the base of the case being flush with the bottom of the gauge, and then fall back out easy when turned upside down your rounds should be alright.

one of us
Picture of fredj338
posted Hide Post