Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

.308 OR .311 FOR 7.62X54R
 Login/Join

posted
I am new to reloading so I need to know. Some reloading specs say .308 for the 7.62 x 54R but some say .311 How do I know for sure which one is suitable for my rifle. I have been using the Wolf Gold ammo with no issue except accuracy but I dont see any specs for it. Any help would be appreciated.

One of Us
Picture of El Deguello
posted Hide Post
quote:
How do I know for sure which one is suitable for my rifle. I

You "slug the bore". Take a 00 buckshot and a brass punch. Stand the rifle on the buttplate on the floor. Place the buckshot on the muzzle and with a lightweight hammer, use the brass punch to drive the buckshot into the bore. (You use a brass punch so you can't damage the muzzle crown.) A sliver of lead should be shaved off as the oversize shot enters the bore. Push the shot all the way through the bore with a cleaning rod and out the open bolt.

Now take your mike and mike the slug. The large section will tell you the groove diameter, and the smaller section is the bor diameter.

I just got done doing this with my Mosin/Nagant M91/30. The bore size of my rifle (small section) turned out to be .300". The large section was .314"! So I shot the rifle with .308", .211", and .314" bullets. It shot best with the .311"'s! (Mine has really deep grooves, but I've heard of even deeper ones. I wonder if the Russians made 'em this way so they could be literally fired forever w/o shooting out the rifling??

Anyway, mine shoots pretty poorly, even though the bore looks OK. In fact this one has about the WORST ACCURACY I've ever experienced with a military rifle from ANY country-even the Italian Mannlicher-Carcano!

"Bitte, trinks du nicht das Wasser. Dahin haben die Kuhen gesheissen."

Posts: 4386 | Location: New Woodstock, Madison County, Central NY | Registered: 04 January 2005Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post