Find
Notify
Tools

Missfires
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
Hello Folks

I've been reloading in low volumes for about 30 years . . . mostly 7x57 but other calibres as well and now 250 Savage.

In the last six months I've had a hangfire and two miss-fires in my 250 Savage rounds - I don't recall a single issue for the previous 1000 or so rounds so I'm a bit puzzled !

The rifle in question is a Mauser 98 (its a kurz action) and it does have a very slighlt off centre primer strike - just enough to detect with the eye. Headspace is bang on and I've recently cleaned the striker assembly

The primer is a Federal 210. Load is 35gns 4320 behind 117 Hornardy SST's. Sizing lube is Hornardy one-shot. I prime with an RCBS tool, so don't touch the primers. I don't clean cases.

Any ideas ?

Posts: 605 | Location: Southland, New Zealand | Registered: 11 February 2005Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
I would be lookig at 3 things:
Weak spring
Worn firing pin
Or gunk inside the bolt.

I'd start by disassembling the bolt, and taking a look inside, and making sure everything is nice and clean.

Posts: 3034 | Location: Colorado | Registered: 01 July 2010Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of bartsche
posted Hide Post
Frowner It sounds as though this would take some on the spot observation and hands on examination.
Frowner the possibilities are numerous. beerroger

Old age is a high price to pay for maturity!!! Some never pay and some pay and never reap the reward. Wisdom comes with age! Sometimes age comes alone..

Posts: 10226 | Location: Temple City CA | Registered: 29 April 2003Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post