Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Powder Selection ?
 Login/Join

posted
I am interested in the powder selection process. As a beginner, my selection of H380 was far from scientific. My decision to use it was based on it's history of performance and ease of use.

However, I have read that you should select powder base on burn rate, the slower the better.

Can someone expand on this topic?

Thanks,
[Smile]
Art

Posts: 26 | Location: North Georgia | Registered: 28 August 2003Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
I just look in the reloading manual and find the powder that provides the highest velocity and start working up loads.
Usually I can get good enough accuracy with those powders.
However for all my big game calibers I have settled on H4831sc exclusively through trial and error. I like to keep it simple.

Posts: 162 | Location: Boise | Registered: 07 May 2003Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by ArtD:
I have read that you should select powder base on burn rate, the slower the better.

No. That advice is not good.

You should select a powder that is appropriate for the caliber, case, and bullet you are loading. Some of those combinations work best with fast burning powders, some with medium burning ones, and some with slow ones. This is generally proportional to the size of the case in relationship to the caliber and bullet weight, meaning that small cases and light bullets usually need a faster burning powder to work best, while large cases and/or heavy bullets usually work best with slower burning powders.