New
Find
Notify
Tools

Opinion on the Lee Pro 1000.
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
I know, Dillon is the best, just can't justify the cost diffrence right now. Just wondering what opinion people with reloading experince had on this press. I am new to reloading and am looking at reloading 9mm, .40, .45, and .223. Not relly for accuracy, but don't want lead flying every where but what I,m aiming at. I like shooting and like hitting targets, but am not trying to hit a drink can at 100yds with a .45. This press seems to be inexpensive and will serve the pourpose I am buying it for, but would like people with experince to give their opinion on it.

What are some good, inexpensive, plinking loads for the above ammo?

Any other advice is welcome, as I have never reloaded one single round.

The answer to any question you have is in the Bible.

Without the mistakes of the past, there would be no wisdom for the future.

Posts: 79 | Location: Duncan, NC | Registered: 17 February 2008Reply With Quote
posted Hide Post
I just got a pro 1000 for .40 cal. I've only loaded once this past weekend. Its also my first press. It worked just fine, didnt seem to have to many problems. But, if I had it to do again I would buy the lee turret press. The reason is, on the progressive(1000), you have 3 operations going on at the same time. Its tough to keep up with it. On the turret you have one operation at a time, and I believe that would be easier to keep up with. It probably comes down to confidence in yourself and the press. But, its not a bad press and I will keep it. I got the parts to convert it to reload .44 mag/spl this weekend. I'm sure i'll get another press to but its fun so far. Also, you can load just one round at a time and that makes it easy to. later Bill

Posts: 13 | Location: Madison, NC | Registered: 23 February 2008Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post