Find
Notify
Tools

Measuring distance to a rifles lands
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
Friends-

I have been handloading for 25 years and I just never got so technical that I measured distance to lands. In setting up a cartridge's OAL, I used the old smudged dummy round method.

Today, there are all sorts of rigs out there to actually measure distance to rifle lands down to the thousandths of an inch. Question is who makes the best and simplest rig out there for doing this?

Thanks in advance.

May the wind be in your face and the sun at your back.

P. Mark Stark

Posts: 1323 | Location: San Antonio, Texas | Registered: 04 March 2003Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of Jim White
posted Hide Post
I use the rod offered by Sinclair International. It's simple to use and is very accurate. Stoney Point has a good one to. It's just that I happen to own the Sinclair and that's the one I am familiar with. Jim

99% of the democrats give the rest a bad name.

"O" = zero

NRA life member

Posts: 730 | Location: Prescott, AZ | Registered: 07 February 2001Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
Ya know, I never saw how any of those systems could be especially accurate, since they don't use a fireformed case. I want to know the distance from the lands to the bolt face, not to the head of a dummy case made to fit any gun.

I do it by seating a bullet long in a fireformed case, chambering it, then measuring it. The trick is to get a "just tight enough" fit between the bullet and the case neck. If it's too loose, it'll either stick in the throat or move in the neck when you measure it. If it's too tight, it will be forced into the lands by some unknown amount instead of just touching them. I use a neck-sizing die adjusted to size a very small amount of the neck. I like to be able to move the bullet with my fingers, with some effort.

one of us
Picture of hivelosity
posted Hide Post
mark, there only for reference. saami
i make all of mine using fire formed cases.