Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Soaking brass help needed!
 Login/Join

posted
Guys I have been getting brass from my local range and have heard abot flare ups from fresh brass with powder residue as well as paper in the mix. I have been soaking the brass overnight in a 5gal bucket of hot water. Is ths good enough or should I be doing more?

-james

one of us
posted Hide Post
I have never heard of this problem!
I've been reloading since 1974 and I have never soaked brass as you have stated!
I just look it over, then throw it into the tumbler!

Posts: 454 | Location: Russell (way upstate), NY - USA | Registered: 11 July 2003Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
I was reading a Reloading book that said to actually boil the cases for a few minutes and then drain them and allow to air dry. I guess its a common practice that i have never heard of before.

Posts: 25 | Location: South Australia | Registered: 02 July 2003Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
That's odd. I have never heard of doing that. Probably won't start either. I just do what the previous poster said, throw them in the tumbler.

Posts: 445 | Location: Connellsville, PA | Registered: 25 April 2002Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
I have used 50-50 mix of hot, soapy (Dawn) water and white vinegar with salt added. Cases come out very clean, especially after used for several loads with cast boolits and FWFL. After awhile there is a little waxy film that builds up, and it all comes off. I hardly ever tumble them any more, unless they just really need it. sundog

Posts: 287 | Location: Koweta Mission, OK | Registered: 28 August 2001Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of ricciardelli
posted Hide Post
And I heard that there is a monster in Loc Ness...

Posts: 3282 | Location: Saint Marie, Montana | Registered: 22 May 2002Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post