Find
Notify
Tools

270 caliber for elk
 Login/Join

One of Us
Picture of gunz
posted
I am new to reloading and I am looking for advice on which bullets and what grain bullets are recommended for the 270 caliber. i am hunting deer and elk later this year with this gun. i have successfully taken many whitetail deer with this gun And i am hopeing to take an Elk with it this year. Any suggestions?

Most people are link slinkies, Basically useless but fun to push down the stairs.

Posts: 265 | Location: Oklahoma City, OK | Registered: 31 December 2005Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
I'm certainly not an expert having only shot 5 elk. I've seen two others shot. Two of the five I have shot were with the 270 and Nosler Partition 150's. The other calibers I'll used or seen used are 7x57 with factory remington 175 rn, 7 rem mag with 160 NP, 300 weatherby with 180 np,338 win with 275 grain speer semi spitzer and the 375 with 270 Power Points.

With that little bit of experience I would say that I would not use a 270 again. If I did it would be with Win. Fail safes or other super premium bullets. With those bullets the 270 will work but be very careful about what angle you shoot from and place your bullets very carefully. Do not expect any kind of blood trail to help you find your elk. On the other hand bullet placement trumps calibre bullet weight and every thing else. You are better off with a 270 that you shoot well than anything bigger that causes you to flitch.

good luck on your hunt there is nother better than elk hunting.

es

If you own a gun and you are not a member of the NRA and other pro 2nd amendment organizations then YOU are part of the problem.

Posts: 1231 | Location: South Texas | Registered: 12 July 2005Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
Ole boy that used to hunt out of our camp used a .270. He used 150 Gr. bullets. Over the years Mr. Peterson brought a lot of meat into camp.