New
Find
Notify
Tools

lost river ballistics J36 hunting bullet
 Login/Join

<Greg Y>
posted
Anyone have anything to share on these high ballistic coefficient hunting bullets??

<Al Smith>
posted
My friend and I have been using them almost exclusively for over two years now. They are a little spendy, but they are super accurate and they hold together very well even at high velocities (we both used them in our .30-378 Wby. Mags.) None of our animals required a second shot.

Plus the high B.C. is also a plus.

Al

<Greg Y>
posted
Al. I am thinking of these for my 300 Weath Mag. What game animals have you shot with these and how long did it take to work up the "right recipe"? Don't want to have to "bang"($'s) too many of these.Thanks.GREG

<Al Smith>
posted
Greg,

I've only shot whitetails and a mule deer, but my friend shot an elk plus a few mule deer with them.

Before I worked up loads, I e-mailed Warren at Lost River Ballistic and he gave me some starting loads that got me in the "ball park". Then it was just a matter of doing some "tweaking" with seating depth. I'm 100% sure that this is the most accurate hunting bullet that I've used. I'm having a a 300 Ultra built right now and have already ordered a few boxes of 180 gr. J36's to use in this gun.

Al

<Frank>
posted
I have used the 140grn Lost river bullet in my 280AI even had the gunsmith throat them for this rifle. They are the flattest, most accurate bullet I have fired. I shot a mule deer at 380 yards frontal shot the deer stood up so I put one through his lungs down he went 1000 feet. When I got to him he was still breathing. Dressing him out we noticed the first shot penetrated the full length of the deer exited by the tail. To me it seems the bullet did not expand. Maybe I dont have enough velocity for these bullets. I E-mailed LRT about this, never got a response. But one kill may not be a proper test, so I may try them again.

<Metoo>
posted
Has anyone used them in a 416 rigby?

<Greg Y>
posted