New
Find
Notify
Tools

45/70 contender
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
A friend of mine at work just asked me about reload data for T/C contender in 45/70 for 300gr cast bullets with a fourteen inch barrel. I have no experience with the contender, so I thought I would pose the question here. any info would be appreciated, thanks

Posts: 1317 | Location: eastern Iowa | Registered: 13 December 2000Reply With Quote
<Harald>
posted
Use the Trapdoor Springfield data in the manuals (also Hornady particularly has Contender data) and don't try any classic pressure guessing. The T/C Contender is not that strong in the lockup (compare with a double rifle or any break action) and doesn't want to be stressed as badly as you can do it with such a beast using some loads. Pressure signs are non-existant or deceptive. You'll find the book loads to be amply robust!

one of us
posted Hide Post
I'll second Harald's comments. If you stay within Trapdoor load limits, you'll never stretch the frame, and still have plenty of punch. Hornady is the only source I know of data specifically for the Contender. Theirs falls someplace between the Trapdoor and 1895 data, but decidedly closer to the Trapdoor. I've got a 12" Contender barrel in .45-70, and my favorite load at the moment is a 520 grain LRN at about 1100 fps.

Posts: 269 | Location: Missouri, USA | Registered: 11 March 2001Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
Thanks guys

Posts: 1317 | Location: eastern Iowa | Registered: 13 December 2000Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
Lyman 47th has Contender 45-70 loads also

Posts: 321 | Location: Tulsa, Ok. | Registered: 27 June 2001Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of R-WEST
posted Hide Post
Cannon -
A 45-70 in a 12" Contender. I'm sitting here trying to imagine what it must be like to shoot that beast. 520 grain at 1100 FPS. Your wrist must be as big as my leg.
Whew!!
R-WEST

Posts: 1483 | Location: Windber, PA | Registered: 24 January 2001Reply With Quote
one of us