New
Find
Notify
Tools

Fire-forming question
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
If you create .338-06 brass by firing full-power 30-06 factory ammo you just happen to have hanging around taking up space, do you run the risk of damaging your rifling with undersized bullets ricocheting off the barrel bore as they careen down the barrel?

Just wondering.

Posts: 1443 | Registered: 09 February 2004Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of Rapidrob
posted Hide Post
Not really,but there is a much better way.
Rather than wasting bullets use cream of wheat in the case.
Use Bulls Eye or Unique or other pistol powder.
The load can be anywhere from 6 to 12 grains of powder depending which powder you have on hand or want to buy.
Put a piece of tissue paper over the powder charge.
Fill the case with COW and seal the case mouth with tissue paper.
The Cream of Wheat when propelled will "iron out" the case and perfectly fill the case to the chamber.
I've been doing this since 1964 and it has always worked. No damage to the bore . Just a light white powder left behind.
While the load is very light,it will blow a hole through a steel trash can bottom.

Gulf of Tonkin Yacht Club
NRA Endowment Member
President NM MILSURPS

Posts: 448 | Location: Albuquerque | Registered: 28 March 2013Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of Wstrnhuntr
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by GAHUNTER:
If you create .338-06 brass by firing full-power 30-06 factory ammo you just happen to have hanging around taking up space, do you run the risk of damaging your rifling with undersized bullets ricocheting off the barrel bore as they careen down the barrel?

Just wondering.

Dont think I would do it. I would be more concerned about damage as they exit the muzzle, and they wouldnt be accurate. It would be a waste of good ammo. Best to shoot them in an 06 and then resize I would think.

AK-47
The only Communist Idea that Liberals don't like.